Health Sciences Library Annual Report (2015-2016): Overview

Ensure the continued growth of, and enhance accessibility to, the collection:

Achieved by:

 Producing a policy statement outlining access levels to electronic resources. 

 Making key terms of use for our electronic resources publicly available. 

 Identifying and reporting on pressures to the collections budget.

Support and engage in NOSM's educational programs:

Achieved by:

 Migrating to the newest version of LibGuides, an online learning and information-sharing tool. 

 Implementing an electronic reserves management system. 

 Providing multi-modal library skills instruction for NOSM learners.

Expand promotion of library resources and services:

Achieved By:

 Researching methods of enhancing library communication about resources and services. 

 Developing and implementing in-house tools and guidelines for promotion activities.

Create an inclusive library space that supports the needs of our users:

Achieved by:

Developing a Library Spaces Report, summarizing research on the future of library spaces and recommendations for our libraries.

Actively support NOSM in performing outstanding research:

Achieved By:

Developing and implementing services to assist with: Tracking & assessing research impact; Scholarly publishing; Open Access compliance.

Enhancing the faculty publications database.

Implementing an institutional archives program.

Strengthen our role as an academic program:

Achieved by:

Informing our communities about the librarians’ research endeavors.

Ensuring appropriate library representation on academic committee​s.

​NOTE:  indicates complete  indicates suspended or pending

Ensure the continued growth of, and enhance accessibility to, the collection:

Achieved by:

• Drafting a Collections Policy.
• Identifying subject areas, in relation to NOSM programs, where our journals require bolstering.
• Making a recommendation on the feasibility of patron-driven acquisitions.
• Fully incorporating our license agreement details into our eResource management system.

Support and engage with our educational programs:

Achieved by:

• Aligning library instruction with the UME curriculum. 
• Increasing the liaison librarians’ participation in the review of UME module resources.
• Delivering instruction that supports the CanMEDs Scholar role.​

Create an inclusive library environment that supports the needs of our users:

Achieved by:

• Facilitating the implementation of the OneCard system.
• Implementing recommendations and outcomes of the Library Spaces Report.

Actively support NOSM in performing outstanding research:

Achieved by:

• Developing and implementing services to assist faculty, staff and learners with their research activities.
• Enhancing the faculty publications database.
• Implementing an institutional archives program.

Strengthen our engagement with stakeholders:

Achieved by:

• Exploring new public relations initiatives, including maximizing our social media reach.
• Launching the Library Resources Endowment fund with a multi-pronged approach to attract donors.

The Health Sciences Library Advisory Group meets in the fall and the spring. It's primary functions are: 

• To act as a link with the users of the Health Sciences Library
• To ensure the Health Sciences Library’s policies and procedures reflect the vision, mission and strategic goals of NOSM 
• To advise the Health Sciences Library Director in matters pertaining to: Collections, Strategic Priorities, Library Services & Facilities

A combination of ex-officio and elected representatives comprise the membership. The meetings are open to all users of the Library.

Located on the 2nd floor at the Lakehead Campus

Located on the 1st floor at the Laurentian Campus

Public computers at each campus with scanning functions

Printing & Photocopying @ $.08/page

Wireless Internet Access 

Open 81 hours per week during the academic year

Group rooms available at the Lakehead campus

Mobile charging stations​