Subject Guides: Emergency Medicine: Clinical Tools

EBM Tools

BestBETS - Best Evidence Topics
BETs bring the evidence one step closer to the bedside, by providing answers to very specific clinical problems, using the best available evidence. Each Topic answers a carefully worded 3-part question, using a structured approach to finding and reviewing the literature. BETs are designed specifically for Emergency Medicine. The BET method allows the use of lower quality research, and lists the shortcomings of the evidence used. As with other forms of EBM topic review, each BET has a clinical "bottom line" for the busy physician.

CPS This link opens in a new window
Clinical decision support tool includes Therapeutic Choices, e-CPS (online version of the Compendium of Pharmaceuticals), Lexi-Comp's Lexi-Interact and more.

The Medical Letter
An evidence-based database of adverse drug interactions from the Medical Letter, the user can search from 2 to 12 drugs.
Medscape Reference
Medscape Reference's (formally known as eMedicine) Clinical Knowledge Base contains articles on 7,000 diseases and disorders. The evidence-based content provides the latest practice guidelines in 59 medical specialties. Also contains 30,000 multimedia files.

TRIP Database This link opens in a new window
A leading resource for Evidence-Based Medicine, allowing users to easily and rapidly identify the highest quality evidence from a wide range of sources. The TRIP Database is free unified search tool of evidence-based sites such as ACP Journal Club, Bandolier, Cochrane, DARE, Health Technology Assessment, and the National Guideline Clearing House. TRIP is produced by the Centre for Research Support in the UK.

UpToDate
UpToDate is a comprehensive evidence-based clinical information resource available to patrons on-site & off-site. UpToDate is an information resource for health professionals designed to answer clinical questions by summarizing published evidence and making specific recommendations for patient care.

Access Emergency Medicine This link opens in a new window
AccessEmergency Medicine provides medical students with a variety of resources needed to excel on their clerkship; assists residents in gaining instant access to videos, self-assessment, and leading emergency textbooks that will establish an important foundation for learning; and allows practicing physicians to brush up on their medical knowledge when studying for their recertification exam.

Create a personal account to bookmark your favorite content, track self assessment progress, receive tailored alerts and more.
CINAHL This link opens in a new window
Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature (EBSCO)
MEDLINE (OVID) This link opens in a new window
The Ovid MEDLINE database contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 4,600 biomedical journals published in the U.S. and in 70 other countries. The database contains over 12 million citations, spanning from 1950 to present.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
(off campus)
Open access version of MEDLINE with LinkOut activated to the Library's e-journals.

ACS Risk Model
MedCalc: Body Surface Area, BMI
Quickly calculates BSA and BMI using different units of measure.
Pneumonia Severity Index Calculator
TOXNET
From the National Library of Medicine (NLM), databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases.
NOTE: TOXNET has moved.
As part of a broader NLM reorganization, most of NLM's toxicology information services have been integrated into other NLM products and services.
Well's Criteria for Pulmonary Embolism
Introduction to Emergency Ultrasound
An online ultrasound guide for emergency physicians