Subject Guides: Evidence Based Medicine: Finding the evidence

Point-of-care tools

Clinical Key This link opens in a new window
Clinical Key (Elsevier) offers:
• Leading medical texts, unabridged and continuously updated
• Full-text articles from top clinical journals
• Peer-reviewed clinical practice guidelines with integrated MEDLINE searches
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials This link opens in a new window
Evidence Based Medicine Reviews (OVID)
Supports 5 concurrent users
CPS This link opens in a new window
Clinical decision support tool includes Therapeutic Choices, e-CPS (online version of the Compendium of Pharmaceuticals), Lexi-Comp's Lexi-Interact and more.
Lexicomp Online This link opens in a new window
Provides access to two independent drug information resources within the same interface - Lexi's point-of-care content and AHFS's comprehensive, in-depth database.
Medscape Reference This link opens in a new window
This product replaces eMedicine. Contains sections relating to: Diseases and Condition, Procedure, Drugs and Anatomy. Requires registration.

UpToDate
UpToDate is a comprehensive evidence-based clinical information resource available to patrons on-site & off-site.
*Note* Compatible with Internet Explorer versions 7-10, Chrome, Firefox, Opera & Safari.

CINAHL This link opens in a new window
Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature (EBSCO)
EMBASE This link opens in a new window
Biomedical & Pharmaceutical database (also known as Excerpta Medica) (OVID)
Supports 40 concurrent users
MEDLINE (OVID) This link opens in a new window
The Ovid MEDLINE database contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 4,600 biomedical journals published in the U.S. and in 70 other countries. The database contains over 12 million citations, spanning from 1950 to present.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Open access version of MEDLINE with LinkOut activated to the Library's e-journals.

CPG Infobase: Clinical Practice Guidelines Database This link opens in a new window
Clinical Practice Guidelines published by the Canadian Medical Association
National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE) This link opens in a new window
NICE produces guidance on public health, health technologies and clinical practice. Guidance is developed using the expertise of the National Health Service (NHS) and the healthcare community. (UK)

Towards Optimal Practice (TOP) - clinical practice guidelines
The TOP CPG program develops CPGs for use by physicians and their teams. The goal is to provide recommendations and supporting evidence necessary to influence decision-making behaviour for the clinical gap or behaviour identified.

TRIP Database This link opens in a new window
Searches CPG's from a variety of sources. Once you have searched for your topic you can limit to CPG's in the right hand column.

BC Guidelines
BC Guidelines are clinical practice guidelines and protocols that provide recommendations to B.C. practitioners on delivering high quality, appropriate care to patients with specific clinical conditions or diseases. These “Made in BC” clinical practice guideline are developed by the Guidelines and Protocol Advisory Committee (GPAC), an advisory committee to the Medical Services Commission.