Access to online resources while on campus is automatic and available to anyone. When using online resources off campus, users will be prompted to enter their NOSM U username and password. Off Campus access is only available for users that are affiliated with NOSM U:
What is a proxy server? The proxy server authenticates a library user’s credentials in order to provide off campus access to subscriptions/licensed resources. Basically, the proxy server is your gateway to full text resources, and your password/username are the key.
What is a proxy prefix? This is the first part of the URL that connects users to the proxy server and therefore prompts the credentials to be entered. This is the library’s proxy prefix: https://proxy.lib.nosm.ca/login?url=
The easiest way to log into the proxy server is by accessing resources through the library’s website. All of the library’s subscribed resources automatically have the proxy prefix attached to their URL when accessed through that route. When clicking on a journal, database, or ebook, you will then be prompted to enter your username and password. Please ensure you omit the “@nosm.ca” portion when entering your credentials. Alternatively, you can modify the resource’s URL by adding the proxy prefix onto the front. This will only work if the library actually subscribes to the resource.
URL without the proxy prefix: https://www.clinicalkey.com/playContent/1-s2.0-S0168851009000761
URL with the proxy prefix: https://proxy.lib.nosm.ca/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/playContent/1-s2.0-S0168851009000761
Password maintenance is carried out through IT. Passwords can be changed or recovered through their webpage.
Available to access from the library's home page is Summon, the library's search engine. Summon is a great place to start your research as it will connect you to most of the library's full text articles and ebooks. While there are some databases that are not included in Summon's index, Summon is the most comprehensive option for exploring the library's collection of eresources. There might be circumstances where you need to use highly controlled vocabulary or subject specific databases that are not included in Summon. Consult the a-z database list for the most appropriate search tool.
The records available in Summon are constantly updating as new content is added to the collection. There may be a lag time between when a new journal issue is published and added to Summon. In this case, it is best to access the article directly from the journal's website, which can be located in the e-journals tab on the library home page.
Set up Google Scholar to link to the library's resources:
1. Open Google Scholar and click the icon with the 2 lines located in the top left corner. Select settings.
2. Select Library Links from the menu in the top left corner.
3. Search for NOSM University in the search bar. Check the box beside NOSM University and click save.
4. Links for Full-Text @ NOSM U will now display next to items that are in the library's collection.
Set up PubMed to link to the library's full text journals. Either option below will place a Health Sciences Library link within each citation.
Option A:
Navigate to the library's a-z database page and open the link to PubMed.
Option B:
1. Sign into My NCBI using the login method that is best for you.
2. Click your account name in the top right corner and select account preferences from the pop up menu.
3. Select Site Preferences from the tab selections near the top of the webpage.
4. From the column on the left, select outside tool.
5. Locate NOSM University from the list of institutions and check the box beside it.
Are you browsing scholarly articles outside of the library's website? Try these browser extensions for quick and easy access to full text.
For Chrome: Once the extension has been added to your browser, click on the extensions manager in the top right corner of your browser (it will be shaped like a puzzle piece). Select the settings beside the EZProxy Direct button (appears as 3 dots), then click manage extension. Scroll down to click on extension options. Locate Northern Ontario School of Medicine (NOSM) in the list of institutions and select add.
For Firefox: Once the extension has been added to your browser, click on the extensions manager in the top right corner of your browser (it will be shaped like a puzzle piece). Select the settings beside the EZProxy Direct button (appears as a gear), then click manage extension. Select the Options tab. Click on the circle above the Select School drop down menu. Locate Northern Ontario School of Medicine (NOSM). There are two options under this name. Select the second option. The EZProxy URL below should now read https://proxy.lib.nosm.ca/login?url=$@
If the article or book you are searching for is not held in the NOSM University collection or does not have open access, request an InterLibrary Loan.
