Skip to Main Content

Citation Management: Referencing with Vancouver Style

VANCOUVER EXAMPLES

E-books

Standard format for citation

#. Author A, Author B. Title of e-book: subtitle [format]. Place: Publisher; Date of original publication [cited year abbreviated month day]. Available from: Source or URL.
Examples

Electronic books
1. van Belle G, Fisher LD, Heagerty PJ, Lumley TS. Biostatistics: a methodology for the health sciences [e-book]. 2nd ed. Somerset (NJ): Wiley InterScience; 2003 [cited 2005 Jun 30]. Available from: Wiley InterScience electronic collection.

Chapter from an electronic book
3. Jones NA, Gagnon CM. The neurophysiology of empathy. In: Farrow TFD, Woodruff PWR, editors. Empathy in mental illness. Cambridge (UK): Cambridge University Press; 2007 [cited 2010 Aug 10]: 217-38. Available from: Ebook Library.

Article from an electronic reference book
4. Widdicombe J. Respiration. In: Blakemore C, Jennett S, editors. The Oxford companion to the body [e-book]. Oxford: Oxford University Press; 2001 [cited 2005 Jun 30]. Available from: Oxford Reference Online.

Article from an electronic encyclopaedia
5. Lee HC, Pagliaro EM. Serology: blood identification. In: Siegel J, Knupfer G, Saukko P, editors. Encyclopedia of forensic sciences [e-book]. San Diego: Academic Press; 2000 [cited 2005 Jun 30]:1331-8. Available from: Science Direct Reference.

Article from an electronic dictionary: No author
6. Haemocytoblast. In: The Oxford dictionary of sports science and medicine. Oxford (UK): Oxford University Press; 2007 [cited 2010 Aug 6].

E-journals

Standard format for citation

From a full text database

#. Author A, Author B. Title of article. Abbreviated Title of Journal [format]. year [cited year abbreviated month day];vol(no):page numbers. Available from: Database Name. Internet address.
 
Example:
1. Palsson G, Hardardottir KE. For whom the cell tolls: debates about biomedicine (1). Curr Anthropol [serial online]. 2002 [cited 2005 Jun 30];43(2):271+. Available from: Academic OneFile. http://find.galegroup.com.

From the internet

#. Author A, Author B. Title of article. Abbreviated Title of Journal [format]. year [cited year abbreviated month day];vol(no):page numbers. Available from: Internet address.
Example:
Eisen SA, Kang HK, Murphy FM, Blanchard MS, Reda DJ, Henderson WG, et al. Gulf War veterans' health: medical evaluation of a U.S. cohort? Ann Intern Med [serial on the Internet]. 2005 [cited 2005 Jun 30];142(11):881+. Available from: http://www.annals.org/.
 
Electronic Documents
An electronic publication could be an internet site, an email, a journal article published on the internet, or a journal article retrieved from a full text database.
Be aware that pagination may not be specified for many online publications. The number of the starting page can be included in your citation if it is given, and/or the number of pages in the document. For example: p. 7+ or (5 pp.).
Internet Documents
Standard format for citation

#. Author A, Author B. Document title. Webpage name [format]. Source/production information; Date of internet publication [cited year month day]. Available from: URL.

Examples

Electronic document 
Australian Insitute of Health and Welfare. Chronic diseases and associated risk factors [document on the Internet]. Canberra: The Institute; 2004 [updated 2005 June 23; cited 2005 Jun 30]. Available from: http://www.aihw.gov.au/cdarf/index.cfm.

Electronic document: no author
How to cite references [document on the Internet]. Murdoch (WA): Murdoch University Library; 1996 [cited 2010 Sept 2]. Available from: http://wwwlib.murdoch.edu.au/find/citation/.

Government publication: Government department
Australia. Department of Health and Aged Care. National youth suicide prevention strategy [document on the Internet]. Canberra: The Department; 2000 [cited 2005 Jul 1]. Available from: http://www.health.gov.au/hsdd/mentalhe/sp/nysps/about.htm.

Personal Internet site 
Stanley F. Information page: Professor Fiona Stanley. Telethon Institute for Child Health Research [homepage on the Internet]. Perth: The Institute; 2005 [cited 2005 Jun 30]. Available from: http://www.ichr.uwa.edu.au/about/schools/.

General Internet site 
Lavelle P. Mental state of the nation. Health matters [document on the Internet]. ABC online; 2005 May 19 [cited 2005 Jul 1]. Available from: http://abc.net.au/health/features/mentalstate/.

Journal Articles from print sources
For journal articles from electronic sources, please see E-journals section above
Standard format for citation
#. Author of article AA, Author of article BB, Author of article CC. Title of article. Abbreviated Title of Journal. Year; vol(issue):page number(s).


Examples

Journal articles
Drummond PD. Triggers of motion sickness in migraine sufferers. Headache. 2005;45(6):653-6.

Journal article: More than six authors 
Gillespie NC, Lewis RJ, Pearn JH, Bourke ATC, Holmes MJ, Bourke JB, et al. Ciguatera in Australia: occurrence, clinical features, pathophysiology and management. Med J Aust. 1986;145:584-90.

Journal article: Organization as author 
Diabetes Prevention Program Research Group. Hypertension, insulin, and proinsulin in participants with impaired glucose tolerance. Hypertension. 2002;40(5):679-86.