Subject Guides: General Surgery: Clinical Tools & EBM

Point of Care:

CPS This link opens in a new window
Clinical decision support tool includes Therapeutic Choices, e-CPS (online version of the Compendium of Pharmaceuticals), Lexi-Comp's Lexi-Interact and more.
Lexicomp Online This link opens in a new window
Provides access to two independent drug information resources within the same interface - Lexi's point-of-care content and AHFS's comprehensive, in-depth database.

MedCalc: Body Surface Area, BMI
Quickly calculates BSA and BMI using different units of measure.

Medscape Reference This link opens in a new window
This product replaces eMedicine. Contains sections relating to: Diseases and Condition, Procedure, Drugs and Anatomy. Requires registration.

UpToDate
UpToDate is a comprehensive evidence-based clinical information resource available to patrons on-site & off-site. UpToDate is an information resource for health professionals designed to answer clinical questions by summarizing published evidence and making specific recommendations for patient care.

Australian Safety and Efficacy Register of New Interventional Procedures – Surgical
ASERSNIP-S provides systematic reviews and syntheses of surgical research
CMA Infobase: Clinical Practice Guidelines
Canadian Medical Association Guidelines
Nice Pathways
NICE Pathways is an interactive tool for health and social care professionals providing fast access to NICE guidance and associated products

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new window
Provides links to various documents and reports concerning Geriatric care.

NHS Evidence
Meta-search engine for finding clinical and non-clinical information

TRIP Database This link opens in a new window
A leading resource for Evidence-Based Medicine, allowing users to easily and rapidly identify the highest quality evidence from a wide range of sources. The TRIP Database is free unified search tool of evidence-based sites such as ACP Journal Club, Bandolier, Cochrane, DARE, Health Technology Assessment, and the National Guideline Clearing House. TRIP is produced by the Centre for Research Support in the UK.