8,195 Print & AV ↑ 3.1%
3,458* eBooks ↑ 59%
5,913 eJournals ↑ .03%
25 Databases 

17,566 Total Holdings 

↑ 10.3% 

* Largely attributed to the integration of collections held by our partner Universities

Additions & Cancellations (licensed resources):

• Purchase of Amirsys Imaging Reference Center
• License to the Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination videos
• Cancelled license to BMJ Clinical Evidence

Donations:

17 items accepted - approximate value $485.66.  Donor activity is reported annually to our Advancement Office.

Product improvements:

UptoDate Anywhere. Adds mobile access to the UpToDate online database

Clinical Key. Elsevier migrated MDConsult and FirstConsult to this new platform. 

Conducted trials of Isabel & Dynamed

A URL resolver was implemented. This piece of technology links directly to our e-journals from within databases and online tools, such as Google Scholar.  Also, behind the scenes, we implemented a new login server for off-campus sign-in to the library’s electronic resources. Both upgrades improve access to our electronic collection.

The collection budget received an inflationary indexing for 2013-2014. The graph below separates the expenditures between online databases, serials and monographs (both print and electronic).  The licensed resources are core curricular, and nearly all a-la-carte spending is allocated to purchase required curricular resources. All other collection growth is frozen. Upwards of 90% of the licensed resources are in US dollars.

Increases received over the past couple of years have addressed inflation, but have not stretched to ensure normal growth of the collection.  In this context we define growth as the addition of new titles to our book, or e-book, collection in a given subject area.

For example, our partner universities and colleagues in the academic health sciences world see budget allocations to growth at around 10%-15% of the total collections budget. Our allocation to growth is approximately 3%-4%.  The vast majority of this goes towards refreshing editions of required resources in the curriculum. Our internal analyses, using library currated tools and lists, concluded that this minimal growth will weaken the collection in the coming years.

Thanks to one-time special funding, our holdings are arguably adequate and current in the areas of family medicine and the post graduate specialties.  However, in the next 2 to 3 years this will change as new titles are introduced and newer editions are published.  The library would also like to develop other areas such as: medicolegal issues, quality improvement, managed care, and other, more general topics. The current budget restraints will not enable this development.

We anticipate this inability to grow the collection will be a difficult pressure point, coupled with a forecasted lower exchange rate for USD.